Anthony Bourdain Sounds Off

Interesting interview

Any advice [to Obama] about food?

I’ll tell you. Alice Waters annoys the living shit out of me. We’re all in the middle of a recession, like we’re all going to start buying expensive organic food and running to the green market. There’s something very Khmer Rouge about Alice Waters that has become unrealistic. I mean I’m not crazy about our obsession with corn or ethanol and all that, but I’m a little uncomfortable with legislating good eating habits. I’m suspicious of orthodoxy, the kind of orthodoxy when it comes to what you put in your mouth. I’m a little reluctant to admit that maybe Americans are too stupid to figure out that the food we’re eating is killing us. But I don’t know if it’s time to send out special squads to close all the McDonald’s. My libertarian side is at odds with my revulsion at what we as a country have done to ourselves physically with what we’ve chosen to eat and our fast food culture. I’m really divided on that issue.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Anthony Bourdain Sounds Off

  1. Sarah

    I’m sorry, but I’m totally with Alice Waters on this one. The point is not to legislate good eating habits but to educate people about eating! To point out that there is a difference between eating at McDonalds and eating food with real nutritional value. Whether Americans are stupid or not, we have become so far removed from our industrial food chain that we don’t even know what “processed” means. If that information and the potential nutritional downsides of such food were more readily available and some people still want to ignore that, then fine, that really is a choice. But as it stands now that information is so buried in jargon and the weight of status quo expectations that people rarely make informed choices about food.

  2. The Drunken Priest

    “The point is not to legislate good eating habits but to educate people about eating!”

    I think that’s a worthy goal!

Leave a Reply

